Featured Video


Europe Watch


30th December 2016 – President Nursultan Nazarbayev has appointed Kairat Abdrakhmanov as the new Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Mr. Abdrakhmanov, who had been serving as Kazakhstan’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations since 2013, replaces H.E. Erlan Idrissov who is to be transferred to an as-yet unnamed position. In addition to his role at the UN - which culminated in Kazakhstan’s landmark election this year as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council starting in January 2017 - Mr. Abdrakhmanov has served as Kazakh Ambassador to the Republic of Austria and the State of Israel, and as Permanent Representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the OSCE. He acted as Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs between 1999 – 2001, and 2006 - 07. Wedenesday’s Presidential Press Release also announced that Timur Suleimenov would be replacing Kuandyk Bishimbayev as the new Minister of National Economy for Kazakhstan. Read More

Director’s Blog

  • zhan

    Season’s Greetings from the ECFA

    December 9, 2016 // 0 Comments

    What a year it’s been for the ECFA!   Our Third Annual Meeting, held on October 6 – 7th in the luxurious setting of Cliveden House in Berkshire, UK, was our most ...read more

Latest News from Central Asia

News Stories from Central Asia

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.